I’m listening to all the band music again after losing touch from the band scene for nearly 3+years after my one and only alumni performance in JC2. And I realised… oh goodness I miss band SO MUCH I don’t even know how to put it into words ): But not just any band, a band under the baton of Mr Yea Guo Ming and Mr Lester Lim, with my crazy Sausage Gang, attending/skipping band practices with my buddy Vanessa Kong who was also my fellow Welfare-cum-Uniform IC Officer and we’ll go around tying ribbons on the girls’ ponytails and frantic while we try to find a blazer for Shawn Foo/Tiny Cheryl, laughing at Anthony’s stoned face while he plays his Double Bass, disturbing Wenjie aka LEEHOM to the max, blowing kisses at my lovely juniors Zakiah, Yuzhen and Huiming, trying to avoid drills by faking cramps and late-night after concerts Macdonalds suppers.

imissamb3

I have no idea who made this collage but its really funny because the person included a seemingly unrelated picture of a guys playing soccer?! I took a closer look and realised that its the AMB guys playing soccer with the SJIMB guys. (Haha at Jacky and his flimsy green PE shorts) Oh my god, the days! VK and I even went down to support their matches and we got hit by a ball and spilled instant noodles over overselves.

imissamb

Taken during 2002 Open House. Clarissa was still in band back then! We used to get into SO MUCH trouble because we kept yakking non-stop. I remembered how our blazers made us look slightly like penguins in flimsy white skirts but am so glad we changed our skirts before SYF 2003 and it looked so cute with double pleats front & back and when worn short, it looks like cheerleading skirts. Hoho. I wonder where that flimsy white skirt in the photo above went… it would fetch me some money if I sell it now because its so ‘in‘ now.

We cried when we gathered at the feet of Sir Stamford Raffles after our turn was over because we knew we did our best and we probably sounded the best ever for the past 22years. (We were cursed with Bronze for 11 SYFs okay, no joke.) We got Gold for SYF that year and I screamt into the phone into Lester’s ears, I think he hates me for that haha. St Patricks was sitting next to us and they probably thought we were a crazy lot, jumping and screaming and crying and laughing all at the same time. We were so helluva high that afternoon.

imissamb2

I’m the extra wearing the white shoes in this picture because I went back to the concert as the audience, not as alumni but I went up for the phototaking anyway hehe.

I MISS ANDERSON MILITARY BAND!!!!! ): SHOULD I GO BACK FOR ALUMNI PRACTICES OMG I SHALL ASK HUIMING THIS SATURDAY WHEN I WORK WITH HER FOR ONPEDDER OUTPOST!!!!

And on a sidenote, the image of Baby in secondary school wearing his flimsy SJI PE shorts walking around just makes me smile. Oh how I wish I can contain all his cute-ness in a capsule and keep it all for myself!!!

