sunsetgrill4

Hate grainy pictures but this post is all about grainy pictures as I did not bring my camera out and dear Byy brought a memorycard-less camy to the dinner. Anyway yes, I had dinner with a handful of my ex-classmates at Sunset Grill and Pub last night. It’s named as such because the sunset view is supposed to be extremely good from there in the evening and its all about alfresco dining but due to work & latecomers & the maze-like road network leading to the restaurant, by the time we reached, it was already past 8pm, dark and the alfresco area was filled so we sat indoors (picture above!).

Sunset Grill is known for their spicy wings, offering levels ranging from 1 to 10 on the usual menu and they also have a full wall of acknowledgements of challengers all over the globe who came to try their level 20 – 30 spicy wings. After reading reviews and hearing stories from people who actually tried their wings before, it was recommended that first-timers try nothing more than level 3. The 9 of us ordered 18 wings, Level 1, 2 and 3 – half a dozen each!

sunsetgrill2

Check out the menacing red hot chilli sauce that the wings are drenched in!! I tried a level 1 wing first and well, it was definitely hot but still manageable (: So… I picked up a level 3 wing next. BIG MISTAKE. I found it okay initially but after the first two bites or so, the spiciness started to burn my lips and by the time I finished that one wing, I had gulped down 3 glasses of iced water!! And to think that I have always had quite a high threshold for spiciness (extra chilli for my laksa, noodles, fried beehoon, nasi lemak etc..) I think I need more training before I can go back for more wings… Level 4 next?? Hazel said level 4 was just RIGHT for her!!!!!!!

sunsetgrill3

Swollen lips swollen lips swollen lips. Kenny and Weijie wanted to give up after having one wing. Those wings are no joke.

sunsetgrill

Other food that we ordered. Pork chops, pork ribs, fish & chips, pan-fried fish and some nachos set which costed more than the two fish mains (not pictured here).

Definitely worth a visit but do so only if you’re driving / have a car. We drove four cars in and all four cars got LOST. The place is extremely inaccessible… and we made so many turns around the same area trying to find for it. GPS is of no help because the new roads are not updated and it just shows on the GPS that we’re travelling on trail.

Its at 140B Piccadilly Singapore Flying Club; enter Jalan Kayu exit from TPE, take the 3rd turnoff from the roundabout and go all the way straight in along Piccadilly until you see Seletar Camp. Go around the carpark on the left of the camp and you will see a roadsign that says Old Birdcage Walk. Turn left at the T-junction, turn right and then left again before coming to a steep slope. Go down the slope and the road in front looks like a deadend (especially so at night because theres no streetlamps there) but its not… turn right and drive along the road until you see the planes and hangars (you should see the restaurant by now!!) , go past them and into this little straight road that will take you to the parking area for the place.

Don’t think most of the people will understand what I just typed but if you’re really keen on going, I think the directions will be useful to you! Most taxi drivers get lost in there too… so its better if you know your own way!

16june4

Random grainy picture from my phone taken on 16th June when Baby and I went town.

katespade

Oh my goodness gracious me. Is that a red floral Kate Spade bag ON SALE?!!? Lets see, my weekend job + tuition pay… can I afford it? :S

